Product Image

Centrum Silver Adults 50+

GSK
4.8
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
(3026 ratings)
Iodine 150 mcg
Calcium 220 mg
Chloride 72 mg
Manganese 2.3 mg
Molybdenum 45 mcg
Product Image
Score73
Avoid use until the vitamin D3 amount is verified. The supplied 25 mg entry indicates either a dangerous dose or a serious unit error.
How scoring works
Quantity:220 Tablet(s) • (220 servings)
Goals:
Energy

Score 73

Avoid use until the vitamin D3 amount is verified. The supplied 25 mg entry indicates either a dangerous dose or a serious unit error.
How scoring works
$19.12($0.08 per serving)
Walmart
$ 19.12
Vitacost
$ 22.84
Report prices

Analysis

The tablet otherwise resembles a broad senior multivitamin with B vitamins, minerals, iodine, lutein, and lycopene. Many chemical forms are not specified, and several specialty nutrients are lightly dosed.

The critical issue is the supplied vitamin D3 entry of 25 mg rather than a typical microgram amount. If accurate, that amount would create a severe toxicity risk; if inaccurate, the label data are still not reliable enough for use.

The product should not be taken until the manufacturer or physical package confirms the correct vitamin D unit and amount. No price or broad nutrient convenience justifies accepting that uncertainty.

Who is it for
  • No one until the vitamin D3 label is verified
  • Adults over 50 only after confirming the physical label
  • Users able to resolve the dosage discrepancy with the manufacturer
Best for
  • Not suitable for use with the supplied dosage data
  • Label verification before purchase
  • General multivitamin use only after correction is confirmed

Pros

  • Broad vitamin and mineral range
  • Large serving supply
  • Once-daily format
  • Includes iodine and trace minerals

Cons

  • Potentially dangerous vitamin D3 entry
  • Many chemical forms are unspecified
  • Low calcium and magnesium
  • Small lutein and lycopene amounts

Warnings

  • Do not use the product until the listed 25 mg vitamin D3 amount is confirmed or corrected by the manufacturer.
  • True ingestion of vitamin D3 at the supplied amount could cause severe vitamin D toxicity and dangerously high calcium.
  • Do not assume the entry means micrograms without checking the physical label or manufacturer information.

Nutrient quality

61 Moderate impact

Most nutrients lack chemical forms, preventing a confident bioavailability assessment. The maintenance-oriented amounts are generally modest, but the stated vitamin D amount appears anomalous.

Ingredient transparency

75 High impact

Specific amounts are shown, but the questionable vitamin D unit undermines confidence. Generic names omit the chemical forms of most nutrients.

Customer satisfaction

71 High impact

The aggregate rating is strong and the available feedback volume gives it useful statistical support. No specific review comments are supplied to assess recurring benefits or complaints.

Value for money

87 Highest impact

The low routine cost is attractive, but the label anomaly and missing forms weaken quality. Tiny carotenoid additions do little to improve the core formula.

Report analysis

Goals

Impact
High effect
B Goal FitD Strength of SupportC- CoverageA- Formula Quality
Iodine · 150 mcgVitamin D · 25 mgVitamin B5 · 10 mgMagnesium · 50 mgRiboflavin · 1.7 mgThiamin · 1.5 mgVitamin B12 · 25 mcgPotassium · 80 mg

A broad multivitamin supplies B vitamins, iodine, and other nutrients involved in normal energy metabolism. The once-daily design is more useful for covering nutritional gaps than for an immediate energy effect.

The iodine source and many ingredient forms are not disclosed, limiting confidence in quality. Maintenance-level micronutrients do not provide stimulant, adaptogen, or high-dose mitochondrial support.

Study evidence
Iodine Adverse 3 studies

Ingredients

IngredientAmount per serving
Vitamin A (Beta-Carotene)
750 mcg
Vitamin C
60 mg
Vitamin D3
25 mg
Vitamin E
22.5 mg
Vitamin K
30 mcg
Thiamine
1.5 mg
Riboflavin
1.7 mg
Niacin
20 mg
Vitamin B6
3 mg
Folate
667 mcg DFE
Vitamin B12
25 mcg
Biotin
30 mcg
Pantothenic Acid
10 mg
Calcium
220 mg
Phosphorus
20 mg
Iodine
150 mcg
Magnesium
50 mg
Zinc
11 mg
Selenium
19 mcg
Copper
0.5 mg
Manganese
2.3 mg
Chromium
50 mcg
Molybdenum
45 mcg
Chloride
72 mg
Potassium
80 mg
Lutein
250 mcg
Lycopene
300 mcg
Gluten Free Seniors 50+
Report overview
Iodine · 150 mcg OverallScore77
D- Active Ingredient Quality & BioavailabilityA+ Dose, Safety & Label TransparencyA+ Value

Missing source identity leaves both bioavailability and marine-purity risk uncertain. The 150 mcg amount matches standard daily support needs and remains below the adult upper limit. Very low serving cost is attractive despite incomplete source disclosure.

Chloride · 72 mg OverallScore56
F Active Ingredient Quality & BioavailabilityC Dose, Safety & Label TransparencyA+ Value

The chloride amount is moderate and clearly disclosed, making it a useful part of a broader multivitamin. The source salt is not identified, which leaves form quality uncertain. A single tablet is convenient and inexpensive per serving.

Calcium · 220 mg OverallScore56
F Active Ingredient Quality & BioavailabilityB- Dose, Safety & Label TransparencyA+ Value

A modest calcium amount is present without disclosure of its chemical form. Its per-serving dose is efficient, but absorption quality cannot be judged. Excellent basic value comes from the low serving cost and broad multivitamin coverage.

Loading alternative details
Report alternatives

Sources

Published studies used for the product analysis and the top-ranked studies for each ingredient and goal.

  1. Association of radioactive iodine treatment with survivorship symptoms and primary care utilisation in women of reproductive age with thyroid cancer: a retrospective cohort study.
    Devanarayan P; Hartman M; Partin M · Family medicine and community health · 2026
    Cohort study10,882 participantsEnergy forIodine
  2. Energy level and fatigue after surgery for thyroid cancer: A population-based study of patient-reported outcomes.
    Hughes DT; Reyes-Gastelum D; Kovatch KJ; Hamilton AS; Ward KC; Haymart MR · Surgery · 2020
    Cohort study2,584 participantsEnergy forIodine
  3. Health-Related Quality of Life in Differentiated Thyroid Cancer Survivors: A Cross-Sectional Study From Turkey.
    Gültekin A; Kahraman MY; Şengöz T; Şimşek FS · Head & neck · 2026
    Cross-sectional study202 participantsEnergy forIodine